

COMMITTEE RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

MEETING 272-19-23 OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON ACCOUNTABILITY AND OVERSIGHT

TUESDAY, OCTOBER 3, 2023 AT 8:30 A.M. DET'ANCHOGH KŲÉ - EAGLE ROOM

Chair O'Reilly called the meeting to order at 8:36 a.m.

Committee Members in attendance: Bonnetrouge, Cleveland, Edjericon, Jacobson, Johnson, Martselos, Semmler, Simpson, Weyallon Armstrong.

- Prayer delivered by MLA Martselos.
- 2. MLA Martselos moved the adoption of the Agenda as amended. Carried.
- 3. There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.
- 4. MLA Johnson moved that Committee move in-camera for the following items. Carried. Committee moved in-camera at 8:39 a.m.
- 5. In Camera Matters
 - a) House Planning/ Sessional Work Plan
 - i. Meeting and Events
 - ii. Previous Day's Business
 - iii. Ministers' and Members' Absences
 - iv. Orders of the Day
 - v. Members' Statements
 - vi. Oral Questions
 - vii. Replies of the Commissioner's Address
 - viii. Tabled Documents
 - ix. Reports of Standing and Special Committees
 - x. Committee of the Whole
 - xi. Motions/Theme Days/Members' Initiative
 - b) Confidential Correspondence
 - i. Hon. C. Wawzonek, Minister of Finance 2023-10-02

- c) Briefing with the Hon. C. Wawzonek, Minister of Finance regarding Supplementary Estimates Operations Expenditures, No. 3, 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 Capital Estimates
- d) Upcoming Business in Committee of the Whole
 - i. Legislation
 - a. Bill 65: Builders' Lien Act
 - b. Bill 74: Forest Act
 - c. Bill 84: An Act to Amend the Northwest Territories Business Development and Investment Corporation Act
- 6. Members Business
 - i) Independent Review of the 2023 Wildfire Season
- 7. Deferred or Pending Items
 - a) Standing Committee Transition Reports

MLA Semmler moved that Committee conclude the in-camera matters. Carried. Committee concluded in-camera matters at 10:41 a.m.

8. Committee set its next meeting for: Wednesday, October 4, 2023 at 8:30 a.m.

MLA Cleveland moved to adjourn the meeting. Carried. The meeting was adjourned at 10:41 a.m.

Kevin O'Reilly

Committee Chair

Michael Ball

Committee Clerk