

## **COMMITTEE RECORD OF PROCEEDING**

## MEETING 106-19-22 OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

## THURSDAY FEBRUARY 3, 2022 AT 12:00 P.M.

## **COMMITTEE ROOM 'A'/VIDEOCONFERENCE**

Chair Cleveland called the meeting to order at 11:58 a.m.

Committee Members in attendance: Bonnetrouge, Nokleby, Simpson, Weyallon Armstrong

Other Members in Attendance: Jacobson, O'Reilly.

- 1. Prayer delivered by MLA. Weyallon Armstrong.
- 2. MLA Nokleby moved the adoption of the Agenda as presented. Carried.
- 3. There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.
- 4. Public Matters
  - a. Clause-by-clause review of Bill 38: *Miscellaneous Statute Law Amendment Act 2021* with the Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Justice.

MLA Nokleby that Bill 38: *Miscellaneous Statute Law Amendment Act, 2021* be reported to the Assembly as ready for consideration in Committee of the Whole. Carried.

- 5. MLA Nokleby moved that Committee move in-camera for the following items. Carried. Committee moved in-camera at 12:08 p.m
  - a) Wrap-up discussion

- b) Legislation before Committee
  - i. Bill 39: An Act to Amend the Post-secondary Education Act
  - ii. Bill 40: An Act to Amend the Medical Profession Act
  - iii. Bill 41: Justice Administration Statutes Amendment Act
- c) Confidential Correspondence
  - i. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment 22-01-18
  - ii. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Government House Leader 22-01-18
  - iii. Hon. Julie Green, Minister of Health and Social Services 22-01-19
  - iv. Hon. Julie Green, Minister of Health and Social Services 22-01-26
  - v. Hon. Paulie Chinna, Northwest Territories Housing Corporation 22-01-26
  - vi. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Government House Leader 22-01-28
- d) Future Briefings

MLA Nokleby moved that Committee conclude the in-camera matters. Carried. Committee concluded in-camera matters at 2:52 p.m.

6. Committee to set its next meeting for Tuesday, February 8, 2022, at 9:00 a.m.

MLA Bonnetrouge moved to adjourn the meeting. Carried. The meeting was adjourned at 2:52 p.m.

10 Qu gr

Caitlin Cleveland Chair

Michael Ball Committee Clerk