

COMMITTEE RECORD OF PROCEEDING MEETING 147-19-22 OF THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 26, 2022 AT 10:30 A.M. COMMITTEE ROOM 'A' AND VIDEOCONFERENCE

Chair Cleveland called the meeting to order at 10:32 a.m.

Committee Members in attendance: Nokleby, Semmler, Weyallon Armstrong.

Other: Johnson.

- 1. MLA Weyallon Armstrong moved the adoption of the Agenda as presented. Carried.
- 2. There were no declarations of conflicts of interest.
- 3. MLA Semmler moved that Committee move in-camera for the following items. Carried. Committee moved in camera at 10:36 a.m.
 - a) Technical Briefing on Fort Good Hope Senior's Multiplex
 - b) Legislation Before Committee
 - i. Bill 56 An Act to Amend the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation Act
 - ii. Bill 57 Miscellaneous Statue Law Amendment Act, 2022
 - c) Priorities
 - i. Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Strategic Response
 - d) Confidential Correspondence from:
 - i. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education Culture and Employment 22-09-20
 - ii. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Justice 22-09-26
 - iii. Hon. Julie Green, Minister of Health and Social Services 22-09-29
 - iv. Hon. Paulie Chinna, Minister Responsible for Housing Northwest Territories – 22-10-05
 - v. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education Culture and Employment 22-10-13
 - vi. Hon. Julie Green, Minister of Health and Social Services 22-10-14
 - vii. Hon. R.J Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment 22-10-18
 - viii. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment 22-10-18

- ix. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment 22-10-18
- x. Hon. R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment 22-10-19
- e) Wrap Up Discussion

MLA Nokleby moved that Committee conclude in-camera matters. Carried. Committee concluded in-camera matters at 12:05 p.m.

- 4. Date and Time of Next Meeting: Wednesday, October 26, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.
- 5. MLA Weyallon Armstrong moved to adjourn the meeting. Carried. The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 p.m.

Powelly or

Committee Chair Caitlin Cleveland

Manell

Committee Clerk Taylor Maxwell