

Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories

Members of the Legislative Assembly

Speaker Hon. Frederick Blake Jr. (Mackenzie Delta)

Mr. Ronald Bonnetrouge (Deh Cho)

Ms. Caitlin Cleveland (Kam Lake)

Hon. Paulie Chinna

(Sahtu) Minister responsible for NWT Housing Corporation Minister responsible for Homelessness

Hon. Caroline Cochrane

(Range Lake) Premier Minister of Executive and Indigenous Affairs Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs

Ms. Julie Green

(Yellowknife Centre)

Mr. Jackie Jacobson (Nunakput)

Mr. Rylund Johnson (Yellowknife North)

Mr. Jackson Lafferty (Monfwi)

Ms. Frieda Martselos (Thebacha)

Hon. Katrina Nokleby (Great Slave)

Mr. Steve Norn (Tu Nedhe-Wiilideh)

Mr. Kevin O'Reilly (Frame Lake)

Ms. Lesa Semmler (Inuvik Twin Lakes)

Hon. R.J. Simpson

(Hay River North) Government House Leader Minister of Education, Culture & Employment Minister responsible for the Public Utilities Board Minister of Infrastructure Mr. Rocky Simpson (Hay River South)

Hon. Diane Thom

(Inuvik Boot Lake) Deputy Premier Minister of Health and Social Services Minister responsible for the Status of Women Minister responsible for Persons with Disabilities

Hon. Shane Thompson

(Nahendeh) Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Minister of Lands Minister responsible for NWT Power Corporation Minister responsible for Seniors Minister responsible for Youth Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission Minister of Industry, Tourism and Investment

Hon. Caroline Wawzonek

(Yellowknife South) Minister of Finance Minister of Justice

Officers

Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Mr. Tim Mercer

Deputy Clerks Mr. Glen Rutland Ms. Kim Wickens Committee Clerks Mr. Michael Ball Ms. Cynthia James Ms. Jennifer Franki-Smith Law Clerks Ms. Sheila MacPherson Ms. Alyssa Holland

Box 1320 Yellowknife, Northwest Territories Tel: (867) 767-9010 Fax: (867) 920-4735 Toll-Free: 1-800-661-0784 <u>http://www.assembly.gov.nt.ca</u>

Published under the authority of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PRAYER	.1
TABLING OF DOCUMENTS	.1
NOTICES OF MOTION	.1
13-19(2) – Notice of Motion - Extended Adjournment of the House to October 15, 2020	.1
ORDERS OF THE DAY	.2



YELLOWKNIFE, NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Members Present

Hon. Frederick Blake Jr, Mr. Bonnetrouge, Hon. Paulie Chinna, Ms. Cleveland, Hon. Caroline Cochrane, Ms. Green, Mr. Jacobson, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Lafferty, Ms. Martselos, Hon. Katrina Nokleby, Mr. Norn, Mr. O'Reilly, Ms. Semmler, Hon. R.J. Simpson, Mr. Rocky Simpson, Hon. Diane Thom, Hon. Shane Thompson, Hon. Caroline Wawzonek

The House met at 1:33 p.m.

Prayer

---Prayer

SPEAKER (Hon. Frederick Blake Jr): Item 2, Ministers' statements. Item 3, Members' statements. Item 4, recognition of visitors in the gallery. Item 5, reports of committees on the review of bills. Item 6, reports of standing and special committees. Item 7, returns to oral questions. Item 8, acknowledgements. Item 9, oral questions. Item 10, written questions. Item 11, returns to written questions. Item 12, replies to the Commissioner's address. Item 13, petitions. Item 14, tabling of documents. Minister responsible for the Northwest Territories Housing Corporation.

Tabling of Documents

TABLED DOCUMENT 163-19(2): FOLLOW-UP LETTER TO ORAL QUESTION 337-19(2), ADDRESSING HOMELESSNESS AND HOUSING IN HAY RIVER

HON. PAULIE CHINNA: Mr. Speaker, I wish to table the following document: "Follow-up Letter for Oral Question 337-19(2), Addressing Homelessness and Housing in Hay River."

MR. SPEAKER: Thank you, Minister. Tabling of documents. Item 15, notices of motion. Member for Yellowknife North.

Notices of Motion

MOTION 13-19(2): EXTENDED ADJOURNMENT OF THE HOUSE TO OCTOBER 15, 2020

MR. JOHNSON: Thank you, Mr. Speaker. I give notice that, on Thursday, August 27, 2020, I will move the following motion: I move, seconded by the honourable Member for Hay River North, that, notwithstanding Rule 4, when this House adjourns on Thursday, August 27, 2020, it shall be adjourned until Thursday, October 15, 2020; and further, that any time prior to October 15, 2020, if the Speaker is

satisfied, after consultation with the Executive Council and Members of the Legislative Assembly, that the public interest requires that the House should meet at an earlier time during the adjournment or at a later time than the scheduled resumption of the House, the Speaker may give notice and thereupon the House shall meet at the time stated in such notice and shall transact its business as if it had been duly adjourned to that time. Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

MR. SPEAKER: Thank you, Member for Yellowknife North. Notices of motion. Item 16, motions. Item 17, notices of motion for the first reading of bills. Item 18, first reading of bills. Item 19, second reading of bills. Item 20, consideration in Committee of the Whole of bills and other matters. Item 21, report of Committee of the Whole. Item 22, third reading of bills. Item 23, orders of the day.

Orders of the Day

CLERK OF THE HOUSE (Mr. Mercer): Orders of the day for Wednesday, August 26, 2020, at 1:30 p.m.:

- 1. Prayer
- 2. Ministers' Statements
- 3. Members' Statements
- 4. Returns to Oral Questions
- 5. Acknowledgements
- 6. Oral Questions
- 7. Written Questions
- 8. Returns to Written Questions
- 9. Replies to Commissioner's Address
- 10. Petitions
- 11. Reports of Committees on the Review of Bills
- 12. Reports of Standing and Special Committees
- 13. Tabling of Documents
- 14. Notices of Motion

15. Motions

- Motion 12-19(2), Revocation of Appointment to the Executive Council
- 16. Notices of Motion for First Reading of Bills
- 17. First Reading of Bills
- 18. Second Reading of Bills
- 19. Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters
- 20. Report of Committee of the Whole
- 21. Third Reading of Bills
- 22. Orders of the Day

MR. SPEAKER: Thank you, Mr. Clerk. This House stands adjourned until Wednesday, August 26, 2020, at 1:30 p.m.

---ADJOURNMENT

The House adjourned at 1:37 p.m.