

Government of Gouvernement des Northwest Territories Territoires du Nord-Ouest

February 4, 2021

MR. RYLUND JOHNSON MLA, YELLOWKNIFE NORTH

Oral Question 472-19(2) Government of the Northwest Territories Affirmative Action Policy

This letter is in follow-up to the Oral Question you raised on November 4, 2020 regarding the During our exchange, I committed to further engagement with Affirmative Action Policy. Indigenous governments, including continuing our engagement regarding the 'Building Capacity in Indigenous Government Program' (BCIG). Additionally, I committed to maintaining a goal of 10 placements in Indigenous governments through the secondment program.

The BCIG will build on the pilot program with the Gwich'in Tribal Council launched in March 2015 and will be expanded to include all Indigenous governments. The BCIG provides funding for up to 10 placements per year, with a maximum of \$40,000 per placement. This program will support the secondment of employees of Indigenous governments to the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT), and for GNWT employees to be seconded to Currently, there are eight (8) secondments with Indigenous Indigenous governments. governments in place.

The BCIG was due to launch in the spring of 2020; however, unavoidable delays in engaging with Indigenous governments occurred while the Human Resources Branch responded to the COVID-19 pandemic. Engagement with Indigenous governments resumed in January 2021 and will continue to ensure that this program meets the needs of all Indigenous governments. The BCIG is now expected to launch in the 2021-22 fiscal year.

The Department of Finance will develop a communications plan and supporting materials, which will include application resources and web-based information for potential applicants. Since the BCIG will be application based, efforts will be made to encourage support and participation from GNWT departments and Indigenous governments.

> Caroline Wawzonek Minister of Finance

Secretary to the Financial Management Board/Deputy Minister of Finance c. Deputy Secretary of Human Resources, Finance Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Legislative Coordinator, Executive and Indigenous Affairs